exactly that

Two red ladybugs on green, one mounted up on the other caught in the act. You naughty ladybugs!Back in August I received an email from Latoya Peterson of Racialicious about some thoughts on a piece at Jezebel called A Practical Guide to Popping Your Cherry, along with a host of other people. After reading it, she tossed some ideas around, we all tossed some ideas back, and this mammoth discussion about sex, race, religion, and many, many other facets evolved.

It rolled out like play dough in a fun factory, and Latoya stressed her wishes to broaden the conversation to the many ways in which race plays a huge factor in the way we as non-white people approach sexuality. It was an amazing discussion, but, since I wasn’t really taught to embrace much of my non-white self until later in my sexual experience, or life in general, I found myself lost in that part of the discussion. That was OK by me, because I ended up taking much away from it anyhow. Being in a mixed race/ethnicity marriage/partnership now has caused me to have to look at my relationship from many angles, but they were not things that I had to deal with when I was approaching sex for the first time. Or when I thought I was approaching sex for the first time.

The ideas being tossed around became so varied and so many that it seems that Latoya had this great idea to turn this into a Blog Carnival. The first one that Racialicious has ever done.

So here’s the first official call.  Entries are due November 30th, 2010, and we will start running the pieces in November and December.  Sexual Correspondent Andrea Plaid is co-editing, and we are hoping for a huge mix of participants.

What are we looking for?

Anything really. But for those of you who need a prompt, here are some things like I would like to see:

  • General commentary on sex and dating
  • First times
  • Discussions of abstinence and virginity
  • The construction of masculinity and how that impacts dating, love, and sex
  • Racial stereotypes/perceptions and their impact on your sex life
  • Being part of a “sexless” class and how that impacts dating, love, and sex

Guidelines are the same as general Racialicious ones.

Submissions can be in any format – would love to see poems, erotica, comics, illustrations, video, and audio, as well as straight text. Please include a transcript with video/audio.  Anonymity can be arranged – the best way I can see it to upload your file to a drop.io, send it to team@racialicious.com and just use a fake email address. But we can figure that out as we go.

 

I hope that some of you out there will consider submitting to this. I will be doing a featured piece that will focus on the intersection of disability, but I would like to see more non-white/PoC voices from the disability community be involved if they are willing. I am really excited about this opportunity, and can’t hardly wait to see what comes of it.

Photo Credit:  cygnus921

Comments on: "Love, Anonymously — Racialicious’ First Ever Blog Carnival" (2)

  1. Robyn Sheppard said:

    So after posting my comment yesterday, I decided that your blog needed to be added to my bookmarks in the “Blogs I Follow” folder. I came back today for a more in-depth look at things.

    The first article I read was about Fred Phelps and his apparently-constitutionally guaranteed hate speech. Wow! Where do I begin? Should I start with saying that he and his ilk are the reason that I stopped going to church as soon as I was old enough to leave home? I’d have done it much sooner, but let’s be honest: to be the oldest child in a preacher’s family, quitting the church is not exactly an act designed to endear you to anyone.

    The main reason I left was the cognitive dissonance created by learning Christ’s teachings and observing Christians in action. Okay, in 1968 “WTF???” wasn’t in current use, but my thoughts were pretty much the same. So I left and did some spiritual traveling and exploring until I found something that worked for me.

    But the perfect example of the disconnect between Christ and Christianity came when I came out to my family and let them know I was transgendered. One brother emailed me and said “As Charlie Brown said to Pigpen, ‘A friend is someone who loves you no matter who you are.'” My other brother telephoned me and said, “Okay, you gotta understand that I won’t be able to think of you as my sister until I actually see you again, but you also need to know that I love you. Nothing’s gonna change that.”

    That was in April of 2009, My father hasn’t spoken a word to me since. Yes, the same father who spent over 50 years spreading the loving words of Christ and informing people of the message of love and tolerance.

    Another funny thing (funny is a sad way) is that my daughter and her husband informed me that I had to find a new place to live (I was renting a room from them at the time), since I was interfering with their travels along the path of the Lord. Must have pretty strong faith if my coming out can threaten it that much, right?

    Compare that with my wife’s parents when I finally got up the courage to tell them: all they wanted to know was if my wife was okay with it. When she told them she was happy, they said that they were okay with it, too. I had come out to my wife two weeks after we met, and she accepted me for who I am. We never planned on any kind of relationship, but that’s a whole ‘nother story by itself!

    My new sister-in-law, when she found out, said that she and her husband would–if it was okay with me–introduce me to their 18-month old daughter as “Aunt Robyn,” to save confusion as she grew. And these folks are not Christians…or are they? One wonders.

    Did it help that my wife has two cousins who are lesbian? Or that my sister-in-law’s husband’s brother is gay? Of course. But it also helped that when I met his extended Italian family, I was accepted immediately as one of them.

    So things change, albeit slowly at times. But after waiting almost 60 years to become my true self, I figure I can wait for my dad. And my daughter still calls me from time to time (when her husband’s not around) to tell me she loves me), so that’s good, too.

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

