exactly that

OYD Cooks!

Grilled Nectarine, Bourbon-Vanilla Ice Cream!

I used this recipe from Everyday With Rachael Ray Magazine (OK, you caught me, I changed it a bit, I always change things a bit!), so I am not going to type out everything, but I will let you in on the things that I altered, which honestly isn’t much. OK, it’s just one thing.

I also used my Kitchenaid to allow me to do more than one thing at a time, and because I am not fond of beating eggs until my arms fall off.

So, here are the egg yolks all frothy and ready to go (all pictures are clickable to embiggenate):

Egg yolks being whipped into a frothy frenzy in a stainless steel bowl in a red stand mixer.

At the same time, I had a pan full of heavy cream and sugar to baby-sit until a simmer, at which time I had to first add to the eggs while whisking, and then add back to the pan to continue cooking. This is why I don’t understand how I ever cooked w/o my stand mixer. I do not have that many hands!

A saucepan with a cream colored mixture of heavy cream, sugar, and egg yolks, which has thickened and become custard.

Then, the Gorgeous Household Souz Chef began working the nectarines. First he halved them (he did it, pit and all, he did!), prepped them up w/ some EVOO and sugar, and put them on our grill pan, which was still griddle-side-up from pancakes this morning, so we did it flat topped. Wev, they got cooked.

two halves of a nectarine, pit-side up, on a hinoki cutting board, covered in sugar. They are framed by a spatual and a paring knife.

Two halves of a nectarine, pit-side up, on a flat-top griddle, charred slightly and caramelized.

The one half started to do this wild dance across the griddle as the caramelized sugar bubbles popped. I have one blurry picture of it that was sort of bizarre.

Here’s where I got a little zany! The recipe calls for bourbon, and all our ration control store had was Jim Beam, which isn’t exactly my favorite, but would probably have been just fine. I chose Southern Comfort, because I knew that it was made with fruit, and thought it would highlight the nectarines, so when given the choice, I wanted it for that reason. It always tasted a little like peaches to me, so I thought it would work. I was right.

A tanned hand holds a liquid measure cup and pours a draught of Southern Comfort.

Strain the creamy mixture to get all the icky bits out.

A light golden liquid is strained through a fine sieve, and the chunky parts collect on the top.

After straining, add the bourbon (or wev) and vanilla, mix well, cover, and refrigerate in a stainless steel bowl for at least an hour, until it is well chilled.

An amber coloured liquid is poured into a light golden liquid in a stainless steel bowl where a wooden spoon waits to stir it.

We have two wedding presents in our belongings, a wonderful ice cream maker from my mother and a handsome keepsake recipe card box that we bought with a gift card at a high end kitchen supply store. The recipe card box has been well used, and the ice cream maker, well… we are always looking for reasons to use it because it is huge and takes up space yet we won’t leave it behind when we have the chance… b/c what if I find a fantastic recipe and need it? Good thing I am so damned impractical once in a while!

This ice cream maker is fabulous, but only mixes until about the hardness of soft-serve, which is good enough to get the job done. You pour the chilled mixture into the frozen bowls, and let it do its thing.

A light golden liquid is poured into a frozen bowl with a plastic cover.

Presumably you have had your Gorgeous Household Souz Chef prep the nectarines, so that they are ready to add in the last five minutes of freezing.

An ice cream maker shown from above with a light golden mixture with small lumps in it.

A light golden and slightly lumpy soft ice cream on an ice cream maker paddle held by a slightly pale hand.

I always have to pack the ice cream and freeze it for a few hours to get it the right hardness for serving, but I can assure you that there was much taste-testing, and it is most certainly edible. You will not be displeased! Yum!

Let me know if you try it out, and how your endeavor fares!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

