exactly that

Happy Mabon!

Have a most beautiful Equinox!

sgc_mabon_adI love the Fall.  Autumn is without a doubt my favorite time of year.  This year, being in Korea, we are going to get to have the first proper Autumn we will have had in five years.  Both Central California and Hawai’i tend to be pretty much the same all year around, so it will be great to see all the colors.  A taxi driver told me yesterday that one of the mountains nearby (I didn’t quite catch the name, but I am working on it) is beautiful in October, and that since I like to take pictures I should consider a trip up there w/ my camera.  Perhaps a family picture in the future…

Mabon is one of my favorite Pagan holidays.  The First of Three Thanksgivings, I like to call it, but this year it will be more like four, with Korean Chuseok all around us, and we want to celebrate accordingly.

May your Equinox bring balance to your life.  May you have abundance this Fall and find much to be thankful for as we venture into the great sleep that is Winter.

For those of you so incline, and to debunk the myth that Pagans don’t believe in prayer, I offer you this Pagan prayer for the Fall Equinox, from A Book of Pagan Prayer by Ceisiwr Serith (I have long felt that the Earth is not an “it” but a “her”, a Mother Goddess, so when I use this prayer I replace Serith’s “it” in reference to the Earth with “her”.  I have changed it here.):

This is what I know, gods of the universe.

This is what you are telling me

and this is what I tell you:

the Earth prepares for a great change.

Light and dark are equal today, but that will not las.

The Earth makes her way around the Sun

and takes us with her into the year’s dark half.

We travel with her

not in calm resignation,

but with wild anticipation of what dreams may be dreamt

in the night of the world.

May they be good dreams.

Happy Mabon, and Bright Blessings to you and Yours.

Comments on: "Happy Mabon!" (2)

  1. and a Happy Mabon to you and yours
    Fall is one of my least favorite times of the year but the prayer you posted gives me a bit of hope so thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

