exactly that

It was a book first!

While I was at the Airport in Narita waiting for my flight home I stopped by the book store, which had a nice section of books in English.  I was looking for The Subtle Knife, having just finished The Golden Compass, but they only had The Amber Spyglass.  A brightly tie-dyed looking book caught my eye, and it turns out it was Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones.  Kid loves Miyazaki films, so I thought I would pick it up for her (as she is an avid “chapter book” reader now).  I almost picked up the one next to it, thinking that Castle in the Air was the same as Castle in the Sky (another Miyazaki movie kid loves), but it’s not.  It is in fact a sequel to Howl.  I have fallen a little bit in love w/ this book, and can’t wait to get the movie again (the copy we had was our former roommate’s).

Kid has really taken to reading chapter books that have been made into movies she loves, which I think is a great way to get kids going.  Her teacher was surprised that she could already read The Sorcerer’s Stone.

What is your favorite book/movie combo?  Adaptations you love or hate?  Anyone paying attention knows that I am a big fan of Harry Potter.  The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman was a win, as was Stardust by Neil Gaiman (Kid was the Fallen Star for Halloween two years ago).  As much as I hate Twilight, the movie makes the book look like Tolkein.

Comments on: "It was a book first!" (6)

  1. i also enjoyed the stardust book movie combo

    also V for Vendetta but it took me a second viewing of the movie to get there.

  2. I have Howl’s Moving Castle on my Netflix and can’t wait to watch it! Unfortunately I have to wait until I move out of my parents’ house, because they do not appreciate the art of animation…

  3. Hey Sparkles- you getting your emo on with Howl?

    (makes evil giggle and dodges away)

    Also- shameless admission time- Bridget Jones, the first book and first movie we great and different enough from each other to be cool. The second movie sucked ass.

    And because I am uber girly- This version of Sense & Sensibility is way better than the Kate Winslet / Emma Thompson version.

  4. Just FYI, but there’s a third book by Diana Wynne Jones featuring Howl, Sophie, et. al. called The House of Many Ways. And if you/Kid enjoyed Harry Potter, DWJ’s Chrestomanci books are just as good, if not better. The most recent one, The Pinhoe Egg, was Neil Gaiman’s favorite book the year it came out. [justifiably so, imo]

    As for book/movie combos, to answer the actual question, I couldn’t get past the first 15 minutes of the film adaptation of A. S. Byatt’s Possession. Horrible. Aaron Eckhart as the male lead, and they made him AMERICAN!! NOOOOO! But the book? Love, love, love! I liked both Howl’s Moving Castle and Stardust, and have heard good things about Coraline. I would also say the BBC TV-mini series adaptation of A Year in Provence was loads more appealing than the book. 14 years after watching for the first time, I still use a handful of its in-jokes/quotes.

    • I did know there was a third, it was there at the airport as well, but I only had enough cash for one book (I was trying to use up all my Yen and have enough change for the soda machine). I loved it so much that I will more like than not read the next two.

      I will have to check out the Chrestomanci books. I mean, if Neil Gaiman likes it, it must be good.

      Thanks for the recommendation.

      • A pleasure. Pretty much the only thing that gets me to comment on the internets is re: book recommendations. :)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

