exactly that

 

My other Other boyfriend, Arthas

My other Other boyfriend, Arthas

In the nigh on three years that I have been playing World of Warcraft I don’t think I have loved a quest chain this much, ever.  I know I haven’t thought anything was this awesome since I did the initial Death Knight starting area chain.

Starting w/ a great Cinematic of Alliance and Horde fighting side by side (Thrall!) against the Prince of Darkness (no, not Ozzy), and then having everyone being pwn’d by Putriss and the Forsaken, in a hard core way, this was by far one of the most fun things I have ever done, next to that failed attempt at For the Alliance (it was not well led, at all*).  As an Alliance toon it is the only opportunity you have to go to Ogrimarr and not get the shit beat out of you (if you are smart you can run and do a rare fishing quest while you are at it).  

 

King Varian Wrynn and Lady Jaina Proudmore

King Varian Wrynn and Lady Jaina Proudmore

It ends w/ you accompanying King Varian Wrynn (who is frickin beef) and Lady Jaina Proudmore on a raid to take the Undercity back from The Forsaken.  You get a mad buff (similar to the one in the DK chain) that makes you nigh un-pwn-able, and the three of you storm the Sewers making your way to the Apothecarium.

 

At the end you run into Thrall again (apparently he didn’t die on the battlefield)…and Varian turns into a bit of a tool box.  If you know some of the backstory surrounding Lady Jaina and Thrall you won’t be surprised at how it ends (though, I found it slightly anti-climactic, to be honest).

Thrall. He doesn't need explanation.

If you have been hesitating re-activation of that WoW account or upgrading to Wrath of the Lich King you should totally do it to experience this chain.  So much fun.

Almost makes me want to dust off one of my Horde characters to try the chain from the other side.

Almost.

Comments on: "Battle for the Undercity!" (3)

  1. Gah! That whole dealio was AWESOME.

    I’ve been meaning to find someone who played the Alliance version of it. It’s clear to Horde players that the Undead have been betrayed by an internal faction, and it plays to us as though the Alliance think that the entire Horde was in on the betrayal, somehow. What was the storyline/perception from the Alliance side?

    • That was totally the case.

      Varian turns into a great big hypocrite (read, douche bag). At the end of it he wants to kill Thrall (HA!) and all the orcs. He wants to kill the whole of the Horde, believing that what the Forsaken did to the Undead the Horde will do to the whole world.

      I am not entirely clear on what transpired between Jaina Proudmore and Thrall in the past, only that she holds a protective torch of sorts, and will have no part in it. The Guy says they were once friends. Anyhow, when Varian attacks she freezes everybody and is kind of “Aaaaaand, we’re done here”, force porting your whole party back tot Stormwind.

      Is the Cinematic the same? Because in the Alliance version Bolvar Fordragon and Saurfang the Younger die (at first I thought it was Thrall, but the whole thing took me by surprise…LOL).

      It was hugely awesome, and I have a big urge to see it from the Horde side. I like what they did, uniting the Alliance and Horde against a betraying faction. It gave me a bit of a nerdgasm…LOL. Once I get my mount and epic gear I might roll a Horde DK to power though quickly so I can see it.

      These are the reasons I play, and I am so excited that Blizzard indulged me so. Have you done the DK starting chain?

  2. Yes, I believe the cinematic is the same. I recall being peeved because I thought they devoted too much screen time to Alliance characters I didn’t care about. ^_^

    I did do the DK chain. I’m a little sick of it, in fact, as I’ve done it multiple times to play with friends on their respective servers. And I really do not like this new development with WotLK where important quest chains, like the DK and like the one that leads to Coldarra, force you to torture NPCs to continue. I realize the DKs are evil when you do it, but the Coldarra one is done by a supposedly “good” player character and I am angered that I have no option.

    I also realize that the game is set in a medieval time period, but they never did anything like this to my recollection in the original content.

    I also feel sick when you have to kill the fleeing villagers in the DK chain. Again, playing an evil person but… You know people are enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

