exactly that

Way to go, Iowa!

Let’s hear it for The Guy’s home state! 

B/c this is great news!

I hope for a day when I can stop counting this as great news.  I hope for a day when it is no different to think that my friends in same sex relationships can enjoy the privilege of marriage if they want it (I also hope for a day when it doesn’t fucking matter if you are married or not, but one thing at a time).
The other night at dinner, The Guy told me that The Kid told him something interesting on the way home from the bus.

The Guy:  [The Kid] told me she does want to get married some day, didn’t you kid?

The Kid:  Yeah!  Only, I want to marry a girl.

Me:  Really?  Good for you.

The Kid:  Yeah, I think I would rather marry a girl than a boy. 

Me:  Well, hopefully someday you will be free to do that if that is still what you want.

The Kid:  What do you mean?

Me:  Well, some people think that if you are a girl you should only marry a boy, and vice versa.

The Kid:  But that’s not fair!  What if a girl loves a girl?

Me:  I agree.  Hopefully by the time you are an adult people will understand that love is love, and it doesn’t matter what kind of private parts you have.

The Kid:  I hope so too.  Because I think I want to marry a girl.

 

We don’t put a lot of emphasis on types of sexuality or gender, so really we discuss love as a fluid thing, b/t two people rather than b/t two genders or sexes.  As far as I can tell, Kid sees no reason why she should not be able to marry anyone she wants, be it a boy or a girl (man or woman, but this is how she identifies things right now).  To her, the person you love is the person you love.  She also wants to marry a girl b/c she wants to have lots of babies, but she knows that having a baby hurts, and wants to take turns doing so.  Last year she just wanted to adopt instead, b/c she was afraid it would hurt too much.  She is still up in the air on that one.  I just tell her that she has a lot of years to think about it and decide.

I couldn’t be more proud of her some days.

And some day, if she does decide to marry a girl, I fully support that.  I just hope that the rest of the world will be able to do the same, for her sake.

h/t to Cara, via Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

