exactly that

Tip of the hat:

 

To Christian musician Ray Boltz, whose music I enjoyed during that chapter of my life now closed, for coming out happily gay.  It gives me great joy to see that someone can both be comfortable w/ themselves and love themselves and still find a closeness to their chosen deity.  There is a severe lack of people w/in the Christian community who can follow the teachings so well and still be able to be themselves.  You should not have to tailor who you are to conform to a narrow view of right and wrong.  Perhaps if that community were more tolerant and forgiving it may not have lost me.  

My congratulations to Mr. Boltz, and I wish him nothing but bright blessings and goodness.  It really cheers me to know that people can be comfortable w/ who they really are even when surrounded by people who do not support you.  I strongly hope that people don’t allow this to undo the good he has tried to do in the name of his faith b/c of that.  A special tip of the hat to the GMA for saying strongly that they do not consider “lifestyles” when giving out Dove awards, and Mr. Boltz gets to keep all of his.

It gives me special glee when people from my youth come out, especially in that arena of my past, b/c it gives me hope that people can fully accept each other one day.

 

Wag of the finger:

to the Christian community who choose to shame Ray Boltz for coming out, discounting all he has done for his faith b/c they personally disagree w/ one private aspect of his life, and calling him vile or comparing him to a pedophile.  Who he chooses to love does not change the way he worships his given deity.  The Christian God that I once worshipped and whom I don’t discount as being part of a greater pantheon would love each and every person the same, and possibly more for being true to themselves.  Shame on you, intolerant believers.  You do yourselves and your god a disservice, and cast a bad light on your religion.  It just reaffirms my belief that Christians ruin Christianity.  It can be done right, by people who truly get that God is Love.  If Jesus were alive and well today he would take Mr. Boltz in his arms and congratulate him and wish him well.*  Ray Boltz is still a human being, and now possibly more whole, and he deserves the love and compassion that Christianity teaches.  I thought that judgement was for God alone.

 

*Why, yes, I do in fact believe that my having actually lived and breathed a faith gives me a voice of authority on what that doctrine or dogma is.  I have now devoted two significant portions of my life to two major world religions.  I firmly believe that I can see them both fairly.  I do not hate Christianity.  I did have a grudge w/ those who shunned me when I needed them most, but I have forgiven that b/c I am happier and more whole now.

 

h/t to emphatic asterisk, whose take on this was very kind and non-judgmental.  I really wish that more followers of Christianity had this blogger’s sense of respect.  I went to this site to read the article and not to troll.  I hope I can expect the same.  Comments on this post will be subject to the swift and merciless judgement of your Moderatrix.

Comments on: "Tip of the Hat/Wag of the Finger" (3)

  1. Beautifully said.

    When, oh when will “Christians” become Christ-like?

    Probably never.

    Rock on Ray.

  2. Wow, Brave Sir Robin. I actually had a dream about the comment you made. In my dream someone said to me, “you don’t have to be Christian to be Christ-like.” It is the truth!

    Maybe one day they will become “Christ-like,” but it probably won’t be for awhile.

  3. This..

    “There is a severe lack of people w/in the Christian community who can follow the teachings so well and still be able to be themselves. You should not have to tailor who you are to conform to a narrow view of right and wrong. Perhaps if that community were more tolerant and forgiving it may not have lost me.”

    Is something I so get.

    As a Christian who’s been out of church-going for over a year now…. I feel so lonely. But I can’t seem to put together my love for Christ with his followers.

    This was a wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

