exactly that

Thursday Blogwhoring

Lots of stuff this week.  I have a new method of keeping track of the links I want to highlight.  Plus, I was under the weather and had a lot of catch up reading to do.

Here goes!

The Red Queen continues her series on the Inner Third World, w/ Reproduction on how a woman’s right to have children and to choice is viewed differently based on their race.

Natalia Antonova discusses why the concept of Purity at All Costs is not something we should embrace.  Pretty powerful.

Shark-Fu is doing a once a week spot at Feministing, and I think this may make their blog worth reading for me again.  This week she tells us what she would do if she had a chance to talk to the Veep candidates when they come to Saint Louis.

William K. Wolfrum reveals that Jesus has quit Christianity after taking one look at the Republican platform.

Renee gives us  Can I Touch Your Hair?, more on acceptable violence against children.  She is also guest blogging again this week at Feministe, so please check her out there.

Ojibway Migisi Bineshii talks a little about her Ojibway Heritage.

When I tell people I have Ojibway heritage they often ask where the Ojibway are from. If I am in Michigan I have to inform people that they are from right here. I have to change consciousness around towns and cities being “founded” in 1701 or 1844 and tell them that the Ojibway have been here long before that.

It makes me reflect upon my own Ojibway heritage, and how it affects the facets of my daily life, from how I raise my child to how it influences my Paganism.

Love me some Kate Harding.  Didn’t you know beating genetics is as simple as exercising only 3 to 4 hours a day?  How exciting!

Pam’s House Blend links to a great tribute by one of My Other Boyfriends to Elaine Donnelly.  Don’t know who she is?

Also from Pam Spaulding, the Soulforce Equality Ride, and why we need it (see the included picture.  If you have to ask…)

I agree w/ Some Watery Tart about Matt Damon.  I would add one though, so it can be an odd number.  I like odd numbers.

Zuzu, a New Yorker, on 9/11.

And Tobes gives us an update on a ND gang rape victim.

I know it’s a long list, but there is always so much good stuff out there!

Drop your own links in the comments.

Comments on: "Thursday Blogwhoring" (7)

  1. OMG. 3 to 4 hours a day of excercise… yep, I’m just gonna be fat.

  2. Paganism… awesome! How does your Ojibway heritage influence your pagansim?

  3. It would be hard to see if you don’t know it’s there. I place more emphasis on Earth spirits and respect for the land and elements than I think I normally would. Most of the things that I align myself w/ in my Pagan working are things that are familiar to me from home and growing up: The crane, Lake Superior (I work well w/ water elements), birch trees. It’s subtle, but it is part of me that I bring to Paganism.

    I wish I had grown up around more of it. I spent my late teens and early adult life far away from home and the things that my grandparents tried to teach me, as well as my great uncle (Father John). I wish I had been around for him to teach me more Ojibway. I was lucky enough to have them in my life when The Kid was born, so that I could have a baby naming instead of a straight baptism.

    It’s fairly superficial, I suppose. I regret that I didn’t fall in love w/ it when I was young and had the chance.

    I think that is why I enjoy your blog so much b/c I get to see glimpses of the things I never fully appreciated.

  4. I love Lake Superior! When I am down in the city she is always calling me and trying to relax me in this crazy world. You can always learn more about your Ojibway heritage and culture. It is hard to be away from it and reading a book really isn’t a way to truly get to know a culture. I didn’t grow up on the reservation but I spent a lot of time up there. I learned a lot just by being up there with my relatives. But also it was instilled in me at a very young age that the Earth has truth, answers and can comfort you. It was instilled in me that I am Ojibway – and thats what my heart and soul feel.

    I also like Pagan and other Earth based spiritual traditions. Anything that honors the Earth and that brings the Earth into daily spiritual practices is wonderful.

    Yeah…I am glad you like my blog! I like random babbling, lol!

  5. When I am home and feeling down I go to the Lake, and she comforts me. She swallows my tears and sweeps away my sorrow in her waves. She got me through a tough and deep depression after my daughter was born.

    I miss her when I am away.

  6. Aww yah I miss her right now. I am down in Detroit and goodness this is such a hard place to be-economically, because of racial divisions, gender divisions and economic divisions. I have family in the UP and sometimes I feel like I want to escape up there.

    I had a severe case of iron deficiency anemia in high school and I found that the UP and Lake Superior helped me heal. I was very very sick and almost died. So my Mom took me up there for healing and I received so much healing from the land up there and Lake Superior!

    Maybe I should run away to there… this city livin’ is nothing…

  7. […] Jen, Random Babble, Rotus, SpoutBlog, Bastard Logic, Ravenwolf68, Sprawled Out, The Church of the Apocalyptic Kiwi, […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

