exactly that

despite what some ignorant people think, Firefly, and all of Joss Whedon’s work, has incredible feminist themes, and incredibly kick ass characters.  i have respect for the concept of the companions, and what i believe is an idea that should be explored more.  but this isn’t the moment for that rant.

Wednesday Whedon Moments are for fun.  a fun moment from one of my favorite feminist heroes.

and, for Tobes’ amusement.

plus, i love the chaotic good of Malcom Reynolds.

i suppose i am OK too.

Comments on: "Wednesday Whedon Moment" (5)

  1. HOORAY! Can everyday have a Whedon moment? :)

    You know what I’m ashamed to admit. I never watched Firefly. By the time I heard of it it was cancelled. I did love Serenity. I may have to see if I can get these via netflix queue.

    Cause I love me some Joss Whedon.

    THANK YOU!!!

  2. i wish everyday could have a Whedon moment.

    i am probably too lazy.

    and when you watch Firefly you will have to come back and explain to me how it is a misogynistic and pro rape. i can’t figure that one out, and read something to that effect recently.

    i have decided people are nuts!

  3. HA HA HA!

    so WordPress has this new feature called “possibly related”, and at the end of this post there are two posts that apparently are “possibly related”.

    of course they are, fuckers.

    they are my posts, and they have the same fucking title.

    *headdesk*

  4. LOLOL!. I don’t know what I’d do without you, ouyangdan (PS: what does your name mean?)

    I love your blog

  5. it’s the name i was given by my teachers when i was learning Mandarin.

    you say it “oh yawng dahn”

    PS, “Ouyang” is a two character surname, unusual in Chinese. it is a european transliteration, as it was explained to me. it basically means the sun. “Dan” means “red”, or “cinnabar”.

    it went w/ my former married name, but i liked it, so i kept it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

